On OS X 10.9 and later minimizing an application can log out the user

When using OS X 10.9 Mavericks or later, minimizing an application can log out the users and close all the applications.

This is caused by a defect in OS X that causes the Window Server to crash on some systems.

A workaround is to disable the Genie effect for minimising applications:
- Open System Preferences
- Choose the Dock preferences
- In the "Minimize windows using" menu choose "Scale effect"
- Close System Preferences

Feedback and Knowledge Base